2015 YA Movie Adaptations by Olivia Rivers

I think every novelist has day-dreamed about their book being made into a movie. For some people, myself included, it would be a dream-come-true. I mean, how cool would it be to see your very own characters brought to life on screen? Other writers think it would be more of a nightmare, since giving away movie rights means giving away control of the story. Whatever an author’s take on the subject is, the fact is that more and more Young Adult novels are being made into movies.

Selling movie rights is still very rare, but recent YA adaptations like “The Hunger Games” and “The Fault in Our Stars” have shown that there’s a strong audience out there for these stories. Quite a few YA movie adaptations are releasing soon, including the following five I’m really excited about:

papetowns1

  1. “Paper Towns” by John Green

Alright, I’ve got to admit it: I’m a total sucker for any John Green story. “Paper Towns” was the first of his novels I read, and I really fell in love with the characters. I can’t wait to see how they bring the story to life on the screen.

Who’s making it: Jake Schreier is directing, but John Green has also had input on the film.

What it’s about: “A young man and his friends embark upon the road trip of their lives to find the missing girl next door.” (From IMDB)

When it’s releasing: July 24th, 2015

18223680669_9289b3fb10_k

  1. “Mockingjay” by Suzanne Collins

I was totally late getting into “The Hunger Games”, but after reading the series last year, I’m now officially a fan. Collins has some of the most amazing characters I’ve encountered in YA, and her fast-paced stories have translated really well onto the big screen. Part Two of Mockingjay is hitting theatres later this year, and I can’t wait to see the finale to the series!

Who’s making it: Francis Lawrence is directing.

What it’s about: “After being symbolized as the ‘Mockingjay’, Katniss Everdeen and District 13 engage in an all-out revolution against the autocratic Capitol.” (From IMDB.)

When it’s releasing: November 20, 2015

etOcsZq

  1. “The Scorch Trials” by James Dashner

James Dashner is one of my YA Sci-Fi favorites, and his world-building never fails to entertain me. I wasn’t overly impressed with the movie for “The Maze Runner,” but I’m crossing my fingers that Hollywood redeems itself with this sequel. And even if the story disappoints, it looks like it might be an enjoyable movie purely for the awesome graphics.

Who’s making it: Wes Ball is directing.

What it’s about: “After having escaped the Maze, the Gladers now face a new set of challenges on the open roads of a desolate landscape filled with unimaginable obstacles.” (From IMDB)

When it’s releasing: September 18, 2015

missp_NYTcover_300dpi

  1. “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs

Okay, so I have to admit that I haven’t read the book yet. But it’s on my TBR list, and it’s one of those rare books that I’ve never heard a bad thing about. Everyone seems to adore this story, even though it also creeps a lot of people out, so I have high hopes for the movie adaptation. It’s technically not out until early 2016, but I think we can look forward to seeing the trailer and some teasers toward the end of the year.

Who’s making it: Tim Burton

What it’s about: “Teenager Jacob follows clues that take him to a mysterious island, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores the abandoned bedrooms and hallways, he discovers that its former occupants were far more than peculiar; they possessed incredible powers. And they may still be alive.” (From IMDB.)

When it’s releasing: March 2016

me_and_earl_and_the_dying_girl

  1. “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” by Jesse Andrews

I think this is one of those movies that the acting will make or break, so I’ll be curious to see how it turns out. The author of the book wrote the script, and it’s already winning some awards, including a pretty major one at the Sundance Film Festival. Usually the “dying kid” stories aren’t my thing, but this book doesn’t try overly hard to be a tear-jerker, and I think it has potential to make an awesome movie.

Who’s making it: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon is directing, and Jesse Andrews is working as one of the key writers on the project.

What it’s about: “High schooler Greg, who spends most of his time making parodies of classic movies with his co-worker Earl, finds his outlook forever altered after befriending a classmate who has just been diagnosed with cancer.” (From IMDB.)

When it’s releasing: June 12, 2015

Are there any other YA movie adaptations you’re looking forward to? Or any books you’d love to see made into a movie? Let us know in the comments!

Olivia Rivers is a Young Adult author who writes in multiple genres, ranging from Epic Fantasy to Contemporary Romance. Her fascination with technology led her to become a hybrid author, meaning some of her works are independently published, while others are traditionally published. She has a passion for representing diversity, and you’ll often find disabled main characters in her novels. Olivia is represented by Laurie McLean of Fuse Literary.

2 thoughts on “2015 YA Movie Adaptations by Olivia Rivers

  1. natashasinel says:

    Great post! I also loved the book Perks of Being a Wallflower and I thought the movie really did it justice. (And I’m one of the authors who dreams of selling movie rights!)

    Like

    • Ava Jae says:

      I personally haven’t read or seen Perks, but I’ve been curious about that one. And I’m also absolutely an author who dreams of selling movie rights. *wistful sigh*

      Like

Leave a Reply

