Circus Books by Kate Ormand

My YA shape-shifter circus book releases tomorrow, so I’ve been thinking about the circus for the past 2+ years during the process of creating this story, and lately, I’ve been thinking about my favourite books that feature the circus. So to celebrate tomorrow’s release of THE WANDERERS, and some really great circus books, I’ve put together this list of some of my recent favourites (in no particular order).
zWbeR2G5

CIRCUS MIRANDUS by Cassie Beasley

This is such a delightful middle-grade story centering around a magical circus and what you can achieve when you believe. It’s absolutely charming, peculiar in the best way, and imagination at its finest. The book transports readers to an enchanting world within our own, where we discover what it means to Micah to love, to lose, and to find a true home.

BLACKFIN SKY by Kat Ellis

A tangled mystery with an atmospheric setting. There are dark secrets in the town of Blackfin and they lead Sky to a creepy burned-out circus in the woods and the mystery starts to unravel. It is such a page-turner!

THE WANDERERS by me!

This is about a sixteen-year-old horse shifter traveling with a shape-shifter circus, and a betrayal in camp that threatens the lives of them all. And it’s out tomorrow. Did I say that already…?! I’m excited!

THAT TIME I JOINED THE CIRCUS by JJ Howard

I’m only a little way into this one at the moment but it’s wonderful so far. Circus Europa has it all – performers, animals, rides and games, tarot card readings – I love the atmosphere. The cover for this is stunning, too!

+ one I’m really looking forward to reading…

THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS by Anna-Marie McLemore

A Romeo and Juliet style love story with a circusy twist – rival families, tightrope walkers, black magic, and romance. It’s out September 15th – I can’t wait!

I didn’t read many circus books while writing my own, so I’m on the look out for them now. Recommendations are welcome!

Kate Ormand is YA author of DARK DAYS and THE WANDERERS. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She graduated from university with a first class degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate discovered her love of reading YA books, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. Kate is also member and co-creator of an online group of published writers and illustrators called Author Allsorts. And she writes children’s picture books under the name Kate Louise. Kate is represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd. You can see more about Kate and her writing by visiting her website (www.kateormand.wordpress.com) or on Twitter (@kateormand).

Leave a Reply

