Too Many Books, Too Many Books: Should you schedule and prioritize your TBR? by Ami Allen-Vath

Lately I’ve been getting overwhelmed with my TBR. Books. To Be Read. Like when? In what order? You’re probably in the same boat. My list is bananas in pajamas. I have books I’ve bought (not to brag but yes to brag, some are even signed!) all around the house. I even have a stack of library books on my desk. And two ARCs to read.

unnamed

Signed books!

unnamed

These library books are on their last renewal possible and are probably overdue.

TBR on the wall.

TBR on the wall.

unnamed

TBR on the nightstand.

Getting ARCS is fun and an extreme privilege, but now that I have WAY TOO MANY books that I REALLYREALLYREALLY want to read, I’m getting anxiety over it. The latest ARC I read was THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD and I loved it. And I admit it, I did have it a few more days than I should’ve but if it were my very own book, (and it will be 1/26/16) I’d have taken a lot longer with it because: A. It wasn’t straight contemporary, so I do take longer to read because my brain gets too “Wait a minute! That wouldn’t happen? Could it?” Anyway. And then B happened. (B can happen regardless of genre/category) TLTSTW is a gorgeous book and one I wanted to take my time with and savor. But I had to rush a bit. Which made me sad.

unnamed-1

Yoda and I enjoying the literary stylings of Emily Henry.

My stack of books was just starting to yell at me: Books I’m dying to read. DYING. SO MUCH. I was about to choose one but suddenly, a new ARC was coming my way. Woohoo! It’s one I’ve been super excited for. My friend (totally name dropping here) Marcy Beller Paul’s UNDERNEATH EVERYTHING.

UNDERNEATH EVERYTHING within arms reach--when my almost 5 year old lets me sit down.

UNDERNEATH EVERYTHING within arms reach–when my almost 5 year old lets me sit down.

So UE arrives and then school is about to start for my 14 year old and things get busy but I sneak in some pages and begin anyway. And damn it. It’s another really, really lovely engaging book. And it’s the kind I want to saaaaaaavor. Now, seriously. I swear I’m not like this with every book. Some books are like a *SuperDrug (*not a real drug) and I HAVE TO KNOW what happens next so I read them really fast. I plow through books like Dangerous Girls, Gone Girl, Unteachable, and all of Dahlia Adler’s books. But sometimes you can also get a book that’s like a super chocolate mouse cheesecake. It’s really rich and yes, it’s super amazing but you want to slow it down a little because it’s…I don’t know how to explain it except to say you just want it to last a long time. I don’t think I prefer SuperDrug books over Savory Books. They’re apples and oranges. Maybe you know these feels.

On left: books I read like I stole and the cops were coming to take them back any second. On right: books I read like their words were massaging me with silk and feeding me grapes as I lounged poolside on an extended vacation.

On left: books I read like I stole and the cops were coming to take them back any second. On right: books I read like their words were massaging me with silk and feeding me grapes as I lounged poolside on an extended vacation.

So. I’ve decided I’m going to schedule my next few reads (in between ARCs). Please leave a comment on how you decide to read your everlasting TBRs. Also PLEASE let me know which book to read next!

Aside from most of the books pictured, here is a stack of books I am dying to read next. Dying! Please help! ; )

Aside from most of the books pictured, here is a stack of books I am dying to read next. Dying! Please help! ; )

Ami Allen-Vath is fairly new to the situation of having too many books. Growing up, she had to wait for book orders to come in or walk to the library in hopes that the latest Sweet Valley book was in. Aside from all the books, Ami’s into The Walking Dead, yoga, warm vacations in the wintertime and ice cream in any season. Ami’s debut, LIARS AND LOSERS LIKE US, will be released March 15, 2016. You can check out her website, find her on Twitter, like her on Facebook but please ignore her if you see her in pj or yoga pants at the grocery store.

4 thoughts on “Too Many Books, Too Many Books: Should you schedule and prioritize your TBR? by Ami Allen-Vath

Leave a Reply

