The Pajama Game: The Cozy Writer’s Guide to Style

Recently, my high school’s alumni coordinator contacted me about an “Alumni at Work” feature they were pulling together. I was beyond flattered, and thrilled to represent the job of “Author.” It was a simple request – “a picture of you at work!” But herein lay the problem – as I told our alumni coordinator, I do 99% of my writing at home in my pajamas. She laughed, and told me a picture of me writing anywhere was fine, as long as I put on some pants, but it got me thinking about what I love to wear when I write. Here is a very unstylish style guide on how to maximize coziness in your writing process:

Aerie Real Sleep Leggings:

aerierealsleeplegging

These appeal to me greatly. I love the pale blue color and the fact that they would have looked right at home in the Klondike Gold Rush. That’s a combo that’s hard to find. Also, I would absolutely wear these out of the house with an oversized sweater and the Uggs I can’t bear to get rid of. I realize it says these leggings are only intended for sleep right there in the name, but I like to make my own rules.

Boden Woven Pull-on Pant:

bodenwovenpullonpant

These were a recent purchase for me, and they have quickly become my most frequently worn garment. They’re a bit of a splurge for pajama pants, but Boden has frequent sales AND a teacher discount – so get on that, fellow educators! The cotton is soft, the pockets are glorious, and I do my best work when I’m covered in royal corgis.

Gap Men’s Lambswool Shawlneck Rugby Cable Cardigan:

GapMenslambswoolshawlneck

When I write, I like to wear a really, really big sweater. This Rugby Cable Cardigan is a more stylish version of the gray Gap one I stole from my boyfriend. It falls almost to my knees, has pockets big enough to fit two Pop Tarts in, and is the coziest garment on earth. For about two straight weeks I also wore it to work every single day, until enough people pointedly told me I looked “really comfortable” and I got the hint that I should leave it at home.

Victoria’s Secret The Dreamer Flannel Pajama:

VSDreamerflannelpajama

Sometimes you want to look pulled together, but also like you have no intention of ever leaving the house. Thus, the beauty of the pajama set. My love of two-piece pajama suits is all-encompassing, and frequently mocked by my entire family. But I sleep – and write – soundly, secure in the knowledge that I look fly as hell in my pajama suit.

Note: For maximum writerly efficiency, I suggest buttoning more than one button.

Happy writing! Or napping. A good nap is a really important part of the creative process…right? Go on, get cozy! And if you find a great pajama suit, please let me know – you can never have too many.

Stephanie Kate Strohm is the author of YA novels Pilgrims Don’t Wear Pink and Confederates Don’t Wear Couture.  When she’s not writing, she can usually be found baking delicious pies, knitting hideous scarves, and sneaking her dog, Lorelei, into shops all over Chicago.  Her next book, The Taming of the Drew, will be published by Sky Pony Press in Spring 2016.  For more info, like Stephanie on facebook, follow her on twitter and check out her blog.

Leave a Reply

