My Top 5 Halloween Reading Recommendations and the 5 Books I Hope to Read This Halloween by Kate Ormand

Halloween is my favourite time of year to plan for reading-wise. I love a good spooky book – a ghost story, a crime thriller, a gothic horror novel – so as today is Halloween, I’m sharing my top 5 Halloween recommendations as well as the 5 books I’m planning to read this October.

My Top 5 Halloween Reading Recommendations pic 1.png 

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

In fact, any book by April Genevieve Tucholke is perfect for this time of year, but Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is my favourite. This book had me under its spell from page one—the moody atmosphere, the small town setting, the gothic scenery, the constant sense of unease.

 

The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters

With great imagination, an interesting twist, historical photographs, and a fresh voice, Cat Winters is a true talent to be celebrated. I loved all of her books (adult and YA) but this one in particular is a Halloween fave.

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

With a secrets booth, tarot cards, a haunted house, a whispering river, dream catchers in the trees, and dolls on the forest floor, The Accident Season is bursting with personality and atmosphere. It’s a strange and beautiful book and I loved it!

 

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Utterly gripping and spectacularly scary. I loved the way this one was written. Prepare for a scare that slowly creeps up on you… Brilliantly done. Great for fans of Stephen King’s Carrie.

 

Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young (aka Hotel For the Lost)

This was absolutely brilliant! I got an American Horror Story vibe, which I loved, but found this more quietly creepy. The Ruby is enticing and puts readers at ease even though there’s a constant sense of wrongness hanging over it. Very cleverly done – I enjoyed it immensely.

 

The 5 Books I Hope to Read This Year

pic-2

The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich (aka And the Trees Crept In) 

The Shadow House: Gathering by Dan Poblocki

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

Shutter by Courtney Alameda 

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz

I will have likely/hopefully read most of these by the time this post goes live, so check out my Twitter and Instagram (both @kateormand) for thoughts!

Happy Halloween!

Kate Ormand is YA author of DARK DAYS and THE WANDERERS. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She graduated from university with a first class degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate discovered her love of reading YA books, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. Kate is also member and co-creator of an online group of published writers and illustrators called Author Allsorts. And she writes children’s picture books under the name Kate Louise. Kate is represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd. You can see more about Kate and her writing by visiting her website (www.kateormand.wordpress.com) or on Twitter (@kateormand).

One thought on “My Top 5 Halloween Reading Recommendations and the 5 Books I Hope to Read This Halloween by Kate Ormand

Leave a Reply

